45-Day Placements

The day school programs at SCEC offer 45-day placements as a support and resource for local school districts.  A 45-day placement is a short-term evaluation period for students who have experienced significant difficulties in their sending school despite intervention attempts.  The 45-day placement provides the student with academic instruction, behavior stabilization strategies and therapeutic support.  Evaluations are conducted and data on student performance is collected to help the sending school district determine the appropriate placement and intervention techniques for the student.  During the 45-day placement, the educational team compiles information and obtains feedback from the sending school district, family and outside supports to identify the student’s strengths and areas of difficulty as related to school functioning.  A complete written report outlines recommendations for the student’s success and is presented at the final meeting.

The 45-day placement is a cost-effective strategy for sending school districts.  The daily rate of the 45-day placement at SCEC includes all specialist evaluations and/or related services required by the student during the placement.  By providing these services in one location and at one fixed rate, SCEC allows districts to receive the information they need at a cost that is much less than if they were provided in-district or at specialty care centers, while continuing the student’s education during the placement.

For more information on 45-day placements, please contact the leader of the individual Day School Program by following the links below:

Contacts:

Early Childhood Palmer River
Donna Cranshaw-Gabriel, dcranshaw@scecoll.org

Berkley Elementary
Frank Gallishaw, Jr.,fgallishaw@scecoll.org

Freetown Elementary
Donna Cranshaw-Gabriel, dcranshaw@scecoll.org

GRAIS
Donna Cranshaw-Gabriel, dcranshaw@scecoll.org

Palmer River Elementary
Donna Cranshaw-Gabriel, dcranshaw@scecoll.org

Seekonk North ACE Elementary
Carolyn McKearney, cmckearney@scecoll.org

Seekonk North Elementary
Carolyn McKearney, cmckearney@scecoll.org

Somerset North Elementary
Donna Cranshaw-Gabriel, dcranshaw@scecoll.org

Berkley Middle School
Frank Gallishaw, Jr., fgallishaw@scecoll.org

SCMAS
Evan Salvo, esalvo@scecoll.org

Gallishaw Middle School
Jason Dorrance, jdorrance@scecoll.org
Jason Prozzo, jprozzo@scecoll.org

Seekonk North Middle School
Carolyn McKearney, cmckearney@scecoll.org

Somerset Middle School
Jennifer Faria, jfaria@scecoll.org

Bishop Connolly High School
Lisa Fournier, lfournier@scecoll.org

Gallishaw High School
Jason Dorrance, jdorrance@scecoll.org
Jason Prozzo, jprozzo@scecoll.org

Seekonk High School
Evan Salvo, esalvo@scecoll.org

Seekonk North High School
Carolyn McKearney, cmckearney@scecoll.org

LIFE Academy
Lisa Fournier, lfournier@scecoll.org